Congratulations to the 2023 Distinguished Award Winners!

From L to R:

Jennifer Jordan: Distinguished Staff Award

Bridie & Brian Busken: Friends of the Foundation Award

Mark Russell, class of 1967: Distinguished Alumni Award

Nominate a 2024 Distinguished Alumni, Staff or Friend of the Foundation Today!

Distinguished Awards

Nominate a Candidate Each Year by Monday, April 1:

Distinguished Awards Nomination Form

Show your appreciation to someone who made a difference!

The Madeira Schools Foundation Distinguished Awards program was designed to honor and recognize individuals who, along with additional criteria, made significant contributions to society, exhibited leadership qualities, and represented a positive role model to others.

Throughout the year, The Madeira Schools Foundation accepts nominations for the Distinguished Staff and Distinguished Alumni/Citizen Awards program. Award recipients are honored at a special awards luncheon each spring.

In addition to being honored at the awards ceremony, an engraved nameplate is permanently affixed to the Distinguished Award Plaque in the main hallway at Madeira High School, and a commemorative, engraved paving brick is placed in the “Walk of Fame” entrance at Romano Court.

Nominated candidates who do not receive the award after being nominated in the past are placed in a “permanent pool” for reconsideration annually.


Distinguished Alumni:  To be considered for this award, an individual must have significantly contributed through his or her professional life to the betterment of society and hold a reputation as a respected leader in their selected profession.  Additional criteria includes recognition as a positive role model, being known as a person of good character and high moral standards and involvement in career or community related activities.

Distinguished Citizen:  To be considered for this award an individual must have significantly contributed service and support to Foundation efforts and activities. Further, the candidate is recognized as someone who exceeded expectations and furthered the aims of Foundation goals. Additional criteria include being well known as a person of good character, having high moral standards and being viewed as a positive role model.

Distinguished Staff:  To be considered for this award an individual must have significantly contributed to the goals of the Madeira City Schools and must have been acknowledged by the community, staff, students and parents as a positive role model for students.  In addition, the person was recognized to be fully dedicated to further the aims of the school system through sustained professional and personal contributions while exhibiting good character and high moral standards.

Past Winners:

Distinguished Alumni/Citizen
George H, Roland R., Walter Wierwille- 2003
William Case- 2005
Col. Barry Butler, Dr. Les Le Fevre- 2006
Stephn & Dawn Kincaid- 2007
James L. Schroth- 2009
Wayne Morris- 2010
Judy Brandenburg- 2011
Dan Henke, James Giles- 2012
Michelle Schneider, Charles McCullough- 2013
Tom Walter, Paul Lewis- 2014
Dr. Uday Khosla, Laurie Westermeyer- 2015
Larry Sheakley- 2017

Phil Santoro- 2018

Carol Kormelink- 2019

John DiMauro- 2020

Lydia Seiter ’15- 2021

Tracey Blackwelder- 2022

Friends of the Foundation
Terry Jacobs, Mel Martin- 2004
J. Perin, L. Colgan, W. Kordis- 2005
B. Rusche, J. Garmen, D. Nichols- 2006
Robert E. Lee- 2008
George & Kathy Hurst, Ray & Patty Nulsen- 2009
Barbara Brewer, Vic Parkhouse- 2011
Bill & Cyndi Underwood- 2013
J. Rahe & E. Rahn, Mary Alice Carpenter- 2005
T. Yeomans, J. Decatur, C. McCullough- 2005
Pat & Jacque Gentile- 2007
Cindy Craver- 2009
Jay DeWitt, Harry Adler- 2010
Don Korengel- 2012
Stephen Shaw- 2014
Jay Adrick- 2017

Chip & Debbie Graeter- 2018

Cathy Schwepee- 2019

Mechelle Hyatt- 2020

Bo & Tina Gutierrez- 2021

Dennis Klasmaier- 2022

Distinguished Staff
Herbert L. Dericks- 2003
Gardner Benedict- 2005
Dave Stouffer- 2006
Theresa Deters Gerrard- 2007
Bill Williamson- 2008
Sue Gilsdorf- 2009
Jackie Schmidt- 2010
Carolyn Edington, Nadine Wilson-2011
DJ Hammond- 2012
Diana Bartles, Pep Strifler- 2013
Bob & Ronna Gardner- 2014
Richard Hartmann- 2015
John Taylor- 2017

Dr. Cathy Swami- 2018

Jeanne Gulick- 2019

Lori Adams- 2020

Jennifer Bracken- 2021

Jonelle Bell- 2022